Skip to main content
Bobsleigh results


By 13 March 2015September 12th, 2022No Comments

The results of the Inter Service Bobsleigh Championships which concluded on Fri 13 Mar 15 in La Plagne.

For the first time in a number of years the Army Male Team took the Team Trophy beating the RAF by over 3 seconds over 4 runs. The RN brought up the rear and were awarded the wooden spoon. The Team Trophy is regarded as the main event.

The Army Team were as follows:

  • LSgt Lamin Deen/LCpl James Steele
  • Pte Jonathon Brown/LCpl Darren Little
  • Cpl Dan Hawker/Pte Ricky Wilde
  • Kgn Matt Lucas/Pte Daryn Smith

LSgt Deen/LCpl Steele were the Individual Champions

LCpl Steel was awarded the Fastest Brakeman Trophy

Sgt “Smudge” Smith from 3 PARA was awarded the Presidents Trophy for all the work he has done in building up the 3 PARA bobsleigh team with their physical training and the brakeman coaching; there were 2 drivers and 4 brakeman from 3 PARA in the Army Team.

Mr Sean Olsson (late PARA) and Mr Steve McFall (late RAF) were the bobsleigh coaches for the 2 weeks and they did a fantastic job of coaching the drivers as La Plagne is a very technical and challenging track.

Great news that LSgt Lamin Deen also placed 5th in the World Championships in Winterberg in the Four Man Bobsleigh  in early March.